Hove Edge Vase and Trophy Winter Competitions began this week and saw new entrants Mytholmroyd (Shaun Frewin, Scott McHugh, Mark Jefferies and Steve Greaves) matched with newly promoted Old Bank (Duncan Terry, Dave Sharp, Kevin Morton and David Bentley) in the Vase.

It was difficult to tell if Mytholmroyd will be title contenders with all four winners or if Old Bank are going to find the standard of the Vase just a bit beyond them this winter. It will become clearer next week as Mytholmroyd take on defending champions Hanging Heaton.

Last years runners- up Drighlington (Ann Billington, David Billington, Josh Gamble and Derek Goor) were drawn against the second promoted team, Shipley B. C. (Sharan Gadd, Mike Gadd, Will Bedford and Chris Bedford). This match a much closer affair as the two Gadd’s beat the two Billington’s but Gamble and Goor won the next two games for Drig to give a final result of 15-14, again showing how it is so important to add to your points when losing.

Mirfield (Terry Varney, Brian Scarth, Mel Stradling and Graham Sheard) opened up their season playing defending champions Hanging Heaton (Ryan Mitchell, David Armitage, Michael Armitage and Ian Smith). With two winners each it was the Batley side who came out on top 15-17.

In the weeks final Vase game Sowerby West End (Shirley Dillingham, G Hartley, Martin Holt and Pat Skene) were without a winner in their game with Moldgreen (Andy Holt, Phil Wike, Andy Bairstow and Trevor Atkinson). A maximum 20 points gets the Huddersfield team off to a great start and SWE’s 10 points keep them off the foot of the table after week one.


In the Trophy Competition newly relegated Cleckheaton Sports (David Griffiths, Tony Quinn, Jack Glazzard and Dave Marshall) came out with a point to prove, which they did, as they crushed Coxenhope (Alan Downing, Debbie Hosty, Derek Pollard and Lorraine Douglas) 20-5 providing all the four winners.

The second of the relegated teams Luddenden (Mick Skwarek, Judy Cockroft, Claire Broadbent and Kaye Lund) were not to be out done as they turned over Shroggs Park (E Craven, Joshua Craven, Peter O’Callaghan and Mike Murray) 20-6 and again Luddenden provided all four winners.

Drighlington 2 (Dianne Hoole, Mark Smith, David Scott and Charlie Wood) took on last years Marauders who, with a new captain had become Hit & Miss (Mick Briggs, Alan Standing, Lyn Hobson and Paul Lowery). In a close run first game Hoole just got the better of Lowery 21-18, Hobson pulled it back for Hit & Miss in the second game, claiming victory by the minimum margin, 21-20 over Smith. Scott just pulled away from Standing at the end to record a 21-17 win, at the final end Standing had two six-inch bowls and still found himself one down such was the quality of the bowling. In the final game Wood overcame Briggs and secured the team win 19-12.

In the final game of the day All Stars (Fern Beaumont, Marie Lockwood, Linda Gledhill and Carol Harpin) proved too strong for another new entrant King Cross (Richard MacFarlane, P Mack, Terry Jackson and Graham Dewhirst). There were good wins for Beaumont, Gledhill and Harpin with Mack beating Lockwood to stop the dry rub. 17-8 the final score.

It is early days yet but the standard of bowling appears to have moved up a notch this year if this, the first week, is anything to go by.