The Saturday leagues concluded this week with the favourites and defending champions Hanging Heaton (Michael Armitage, Steve Wainwright, Steve Pinfield, Ian Smith and Karen Hill) clinching another title as they fought out a draw with Moldgreen (Craig Wood, Andy Hoult, Trevor Atkinson and Andy Wike) and took a maximum 20 points from their game in hand against Dabbers Boys (David Avery, Martin Steele, Joel Steele and Mick Uttley).

Mirfield Old Bank (John Green, Duncan Terry, Mel Stradling and Walt Morgan) tried to keep their title hopes alive with a maximum 20 pointer against the in and out of form Cleckheaton Sports(Greg Hutchinson, Dave Marshall, Chris Bray and Paul Fincher).

Dabbers Boys (Martin Steele, David Avery, Joel Steele and Mick Uttley) assured themselves of a place in the Vase again next time with a maximum against The Bronte’s (Derek Pollard, Debbie Hosty, Tony Harris and David Hemsley) who were doomed to relegation.

All Stars (Marie Lockwood, Lynda Drury, Carole Harpin and Linda Gledhill) needed seventeen points to keep their top division status, in their final game with Spen Victoria (Adam Ward, Graham Goodall, Barry Firth and Brian Thompson). With winners shared, All Stars won the match 15-14, as has happened often this year, by having the better scoring losers. Still it was not enough and the All Stars are relegated falling short by a couple of points.


The Trophy was a much closer affair with four teams in with a chance of the title going in to the final weekend.

H E Marauders (Paul Lowry, Lynn Hobson, Paul Audsley and Andy Bairstow) counted themselves out as they needed a win over Luddenden (Mick Skwarek, Kay Lund, Judy Cockroft and Andy Gallagher) and went down 16-15. Luddenden waiting nervously as the final match went on.

This result had set the target for Drighlington (Ann Billington, Derek Goor, Josh Gamble and Dave Billington) who needed sixteen points from the last game of the day against Shipley (Chris Wilson, Mike Gadd, Andy Healy and Sharon Gadd). With three winners it was just enough to clinch the title, the 18-11 score-line enabling them to come out on top by three points.

There followed a short presentation to the Captains of the winners and runners up, Michael Armitage (Hanging Heaton), Walt Morgan (Mirfield Old Bank), Josh Gamble (Drighlington) and Claire Broadbent (Luddenden).

 The average prize winner of the Vase, Karen Hill (Hanging Heaton) and Andrew Gallagher (Luddenden) for the Trophy also received their awards.

A big thank you to all teams for supporting this competition.