It was a week of catch up at Hove Edge as postponed games were played prior to the Christmas break.

In the Saturday Trophy leaders H E Marauders (Alan Standing, Andy Bairstow, Paul Audsley and Lynn Hobson) took on second placed Luddenden (Mick Skwarek, Andy Gallagher, Gaye Wood and Claire Broadbent). The unbeaten Skwarek got Luddenden off to a good start sprinting in toa 15-3 lead from where Standing never recovered although he did reach eleven. In the second game Gallagher, not to be out done by Skwarek, led 16-6 and went on to beat Bairstow 21-13. Wood led Audsley 14-9 and there was a feeling of Deja vu but Audsley had other ideas and went on to win restricting Wood to just one more chalk. The final game had Broadbent and Hobson level at seven across and eleven across from where Broadbent counted four pairs, Hobson finishing with thirteen. Luddenden 18 Marauders 11, Luddenden would stay second but now only one point behind.

Drighlington (Ann & David Billington, Derek Goor and Josh Gamble) were 16-13 winners over Shipley B C (Pam & Garry Nellist, Mick Gadd and Stuart Wilson) and there were wins for both the Billingtons and Gamble with Garry Nellist replying for Shipley.

Cleckheaton Sports (Joyce Ellis, Tony Quinn, David Griffiths and Reuben Taylor) did their title chances a power of good as they took maximum points from their game with Elland W M (Alan & Keith Whalley, Pat Cleary and Phil Binns) and moved in to second place.

In the final game of the day there was another maximum performance this time from Leftovers (David & Mary Helmsley, Pat Lonsdale and Ben Cox) as they defeated Shroggs Park (Bob Hey, Pete O’Callaghan, Chris Meade jnr and Michael Murry) 20-7.


In Tuesdays Shield games (rearranged from the 22nd November) Crosshills (Kevin Burnett, John Parkin, Barry Turnbull and Ken Brenkley) fresh from a victory over Nomads faced current leaders Sowerby West End (Simon Leeming, Pat Skene, Mick Skwarek and Lorraine Hirst). In the first game Hirst just got the better of Burnett after being 10-8 down and level at sixteen she went on to win 21-17. Parkin was never behind in his game with Skene and went on to record a single figure victory. After falling behind Turnbull levelled at seven but then found himself 18-7 down, pulling back to eleven before Leeming counted the final chalks. In the final game Brenkley was matched up with the unbeaten Skwarek and after being down 11-4 pulled back to level at twelve but from 14-16 it was Skwarek who pulled away to keep his unbeaten record with a 21-14 win. Crosshills 12, SWE 15.

Second placed Clayton (David Moore, Alan Peel, Tommy Harney and Ian Johnson) played Mixtures (Roger Stopford, Rod Greenwood, Viv Smith and Trevor Heley) with three winners to one Clayton got home 17-11 and would slip to third.

 Nomads (Gareth Coates, Philip Holroyd, Scott Haynes and John Armitage) were back to winning ways after two defeats as they overcame Lindley Libs (Richard Saunders, Paul Cooney, Mark Sykes and Pete Hopkinson) 20-5 and moved into second place. 

Spen Victoria (Les Mitchell, Ken Jackson, Brian Thompson and Barry Firth) with three winners to one beat Hanging Heaton (Ian Smith, David & Michael Armitage and Dean Scarth) 16-13.


In the Plate third placed Lindley B C (John Allen, Ken Ellis, Simon Anderson and Steve Haigh) fought out a draw with Silsden (Alan Pennington, Alan Hughes, David Beardsworth and Andy Welch). Lindley had three winners to one but with both Pennington and Hughes carding 20 the match ended sixteen points each.

High flying Greetland (George Simpson, Ken Fleming, Mick Shaw and Pete Lea) were paired with second placed Kirkheaton Cons (Brian Parker, Peter Paxman, John Green and Walt Morgan). The leaders provided all four winners for 20 points with Kirkheaton counting 12 points, Parker with twenty the best for the Cons.

Asa Briggs (Ken McCafferty, Don Harrison, Graham and Malcolm Isles) provided all four winners against Cleckheaton Sports (Joyce Ellis, Geoff Thornton, Janet Inness and David Griffiths) Griffiths counting twenty being the best for Sports, 20-10 the final score.

Pellon (Alan Moore, Paul Firth, David Agnew and David Gowing) had only Agnew as a winner as they met Bronte’s (Martyn Benson, Derek Pollard, Tony Harris and David Hemsley) who are beginning to fancy a quick return to the Shield competition with recent results, 18-8 the final score.

The tables are nicely poised for the second half of the season which recommences Tuesday 3rd January and Saturdays 14th January.

 Gareth Coates

Gareth Coates